KevinUp

real world programming

Archive for May 11th, 2007

web development

Posted by kevinup on May 11, 2007

I’ve been doing web development for about 8 years. I started off with the typical HTML, branched into some javascript, then ASP and PHP, a little bit of Perl, then eventually into ASP.net and C#.

It baffles me how developers have totally missed the fundamentals of web development. I probably sound like a C developer talking about how no one cares about memory management anymore.

Specifically I’m talking about post backs, and client server communication. Such as when I find a button on a page that posts back to the page so that it can redirect to another page. Eh? You could just make an onclick event that does a window.location=’myNewUrl.html’. Or better yet, just make it a link. You save yourself a round trip, improve user experience, everyone wins.

Posted in web development | Leave a Comment »